top of page
The Lions Revisited.jpg

1.    the lions revisited 

2.   blackbird

3.   better let spring 

4.   boplicity 

5.   bright eyes

6.   you must believe in spring

7.   cognac

8.   but not for me

9.   you go to my head

10. the waters of march

11.   moody's mood for love

Jonathan Gee (vocals & piano)

Andy Hamill (bass & ukulele)

Tom Remon (guitar)​​


00:00 / 02:03
00:00 / 01:56

For his 11th album Jonathan Gee has released on ASC his first fully vocal album. It is called The Lions Revisited. It has eleven tracks. It features Jonathan on vocals and piano, with Andy Hamill on bass on five, and Tommy Remon guitar on one.

Two of the songs feature music and lyrics by Jonathan, and there are collaborations with both Kate Westbrook, and Alan Franks. There is a complete reworking of Miles Davis' Boplicity from Birth of the Cool, first arranged for Peter Ind's 90th birthday gig at The Verdict in Brighton, and also of the standards You Go To My Head, and But Not For Me. The Waters of March features Andy on ukelele and bass and Jonathan singing in both English and Portuguese. Finally there is a remelodisation of You Must Believe in Spring, and Jonathan's takes on Moody's Mood for Love and McCartney's Blackbird.

The song Cognac began as an electronic instrumental, which Jonathan sent to Kate Westbrook asking for a lyric inspired by Cognac. She sent back a tour de force of a lyric, Jonathan created a melody connecting the lyric to the track that had inspired it, and then sent an acapella version to Andy who proceeded to create a bowed accompaniment which sounded a lot like the original electro track he hadn't heard. Thus the creative process unfolds.

ASC's Steve Plews was at both sessions and after agreeing with Jonathan how the album should sound proceeded to deftly advise our excellent Eastcote Studios engineer Clem Cherry how he wanted the sound to be shaped.

bottom of page